Why this blog?

A few weeks ago I lost my job as a book editor. Although I’m still employed for the same company (and gratefully so), the loss was painful. The process of acquiring and/or developing manuscripts–of bringing new books into the world–was, for me, the most enjoyable part of publishing and the part that made going to work fun more often than not.

This blog is my generative attempt to fill that void. “Generative,” in that I want to post not merely random bits of whatever I’m interested in (although surely there will be some of that) but rather those things that still give me–and hopefully you–reason to hope. There’s a lot of fear to go around in September 2009, and a lot of unfortunate things result from fear. Hope often seems to be perilously close to being overwhelmed by fear, or at least lost in the static and white noise created by those who stand to profit from generating fear.

So what can you expect from this blog? Like you, I’m often pressed for time. What I commit to doing is posting items I run across that I find to be life-giving in some way, along with brief comments about why. I commit, as a spiritual discipline, to offering brief reflections on each Sunday’s appointed lectionary readings; likely I’ll post these on the preceding Saturday. Occasionally I’ll write reflections on things I’ve been thinking about, books I’ve been reading, or movies I’ve seen. For example, soon I’ll start a five-part blog series on the question “What is the gospel?” I invite your comments on all of this, but I also invite you to pass along stories and links that give you hope as well.

Why “Gawain’s Ghosts”?

“Gawain’s Ghosts” is the title of an unwritten novel that’s been banging around in my head for a while. If the actual manuscript ever materializes, it’ll be my take on the great medieval poem Sir Gawain and the Green Knight. The main connection between the title and this blog has to do with the sheer ephemerality of hope (more to come on this in the gospel series). Also, “Gawain’s Ghosts” works just as well as any other overly thought-out title I might have come up with. 🙂

That’s it for now, friends. More to come. Join in as you’re able.

